Tags

, , , ,

Ok first off I have to ask: Why is holiday shopping stressful? Even when I am shopping from the comfort of my own home, in my pajamas it still manages to stress me out and keep me on edge for hours. There has got to be a way for me to get better at this.

After a harried morning of placing multiple charges on my credit card, Jurgen and I decided we needed to get out of the house for a bit. Always on the hunt for a great food find, we took a tip from some locals and decided to give the burgers at the Westport Flea Market a shot. Which, incidentally, boasts having the “Best Burger in KC” for 22 years running (1987-2008). Well ok then, we clearly needed to check this out. So we did.

1

23

Located in the (shock of the day!) Westport neighborhood in Kansas City, MO the space is unassuming from the outside, and on the inside fits the “flea market” title well. Chatchkies line the walls, and Christmas lights hang overhead. It’s every bit a dive, not in a dirty but rather a kitchy way. You place your order up at the counter and you get to dress your own burger to your liking. A nice touch.

4

I ordered the “Mini-Market” burger (a 5.5 oz. patty), medium rare with bleu cheese crumbles. On it I added lettuce, tomato and butter pickles (this was my attempt to get some veggies in during my lunch). Jürgen opted for the big guns and went for the Flea Market Burger (a 10 oz. patty) medium rare with a side of spicy cheese sauce dressed with onions and pickles.

5

I sat down, stomach a rumblin’, gazing at my burger ready to devour it and taste the glory that was the Best Burger in KC (for 22 years running).

6

How did I feel?

This was my attempt at being McKayla Maroney, but I am unable to appear mischievously cute as she is. So instead I have willingly posted one of the most unattractive photos of myself because I have. No. Shame.

This was my attempt at being McKayla Maroney, but I am unable to appear mischievously cute as she is. So instead I have willingly posted one of the most unattractive photos of myself because I. Have. No. Shame.

Not Impressed.

Admittedly I did eat the whole thing, because it was the first bit of solid food I ingested all day and I was famished. But guys, it wasn’t good. Like it was maybe OK. I am not sure who was voting for 22 years running but I disagree with them. In fairness my burger was cooked to a nice medium rare. The center was a pretty pink and didn’t borderline on raw as some burger joints will do to you, but the meat had no flavor. No seasoning of any kind. The meat wasn’t juicy, I didn’t want to lick my fingers after each bite. Jürgen concurred, in fact he didn’t even finish his (which if you know him at all you know this is a rarity). The “spicy cheese” sauce was akin that of bad ball park nacho cheese, but even that would have had more flavor. Bad burgers are such a disappointment I tell you!

8

But they did have Skee-ball and other arcade games, so hey they get points for that. A few rounds of skee-ball is good for the soul. Particularly after ingesting underwhelming ground beef. (290 was our personal best score for the day, just FYI).

Back in our car Jürgen declared “I need something to get this taste out of my mouth!” so we ended up at Glacé an artisan ice cream shop near the Plaza Shopping center. Thank goodness for gourmet ice cream because it hit the spot and totally wiped our bad food memories from our brains. The space is clean and cool, with warm lighting and a sleek ice cream case proudly displaying their unique creations.

My phone added this caption. It is so intense.

My phone added this caption. It is so intense.

1210After completely taking advantage and sampling a variety of flavors including Fleur de Sel caramel, spiced carrot and salted pretzel I settled on a combination of goat cheese with wildflower honey and port wine poached pear. And would you know, that’s exactly what Jürgen wanted too. Great minds think alike.

Goat cheese, Wildflower Honey and Port Poached Pears...oh my!

Goat cheese, Wildflower Honey and Port Poached Pears…oh my!

The ice cream was smooth and creamy, with more of a gelato consistency than ice cream.  Strong flavors and a subtle sweetness made this trip to the ice cream shop a delightful one.

This is me being impressed. So impressed that I managed to disembody my arm.

This is me being impressed. So impressed that I managed to disembody my arm.

After a day of such yin and yang dining experiences, I had to come home, watch the current episode of Revenge (I die!) and then take a two-hour nap.  I am so hardcore.

P.S- If you think my review was intense, please read this one. So bad. So good.

