Tags

, , ,

bog park shot

Friends, our time here in Kansas City is coming to a close. It’s funny, in one sense to think back to Mid-October seems like a lifetime ago, but on the other had it’s hard to believe it’s time to move on.  What has been so wonderful about this experience was the chance to really settle down in a city and be given the time to discover it.  Also, as an actor it has been a great privilege to embody a role eight times a week and really explore all facets of this character’s personality.  I always say my goal isn’t to act onstage, it’s to live onstage.  A run of this nature has given me the opportunity to do just that.  Also, getting to work alongside Jürgen has been a lot of fun, particularly when I got to strangle him in an elaborate fight sequence.  I have always admired him as an actor, and it was a lot of fun finally getting to work with him. Hopefully it will happen again.

In the midst of packing I managed to find sometime to step outside (the weather on Saturday was glorious) to take a delightful stroll around Loose Park (#16) and take myself on a little self guided walking tour of a handful of the Kansas City fountains (#9).

Kansas City has over 200 fountains, making it the city with the most fountains second to Rome.  In fact, the cities official nickname is “The City of Fountains.”  Clearly, there was no way I would be able to see all of them, but after investigating The City of Fountains Foundation website I was able to come up with a list of fountains within walking distance of the park.

l started my day at Loose park which is a beautifully kept public park, donated to the city by Ella Loose in honor of her husband, Jacob.  With tennis courts, a Rose garden, play ground and a beautiful pond it’s a true Kansas City gem.  With the wonderful weather folks were out in full force sunning themselves, riding bikes and feeding the ducks.

After taking a good lap around the entire park, I started off on my fountain walking tour.  Despite the warm weather, many of the fountains were turned off.  But, the walk took me through both the University of Missouri Kansas City and Rockhurst University campuses, the Kauffman Memorial Garden, along Brush Creek and into the Plaza. Once I reached the Plaza a very sad thing happened…my phone died.  So, I don’t have pictures of all the fountains I saw. Please don’t cry about it.

If my counting is correct, I believe I was able to see fifteen fountains and covered several miles of ground. It was a very fitting way to spend one of my final days here.  I wouldn’t have had it any other way.

