Tags

, ,

Pretty People, I am back in Chicago. In fact I am currently writing this from inside while still wearing my ankle length down coat. Cause it’s freaking coooolllllllddddd ya’ll.  Don’t believe me? Check this out.

photo

See where it says: Feels like negative ONE degrees? Yeah I can attest to that.  I had tears running down my face it was so cold.

Oh Chicago, why do I choose to live here? Because I love you, that’s why.

I feel it only fair to give you all a final tally of how I did on my Kansas City Resolutions List. Without further ado…here goes:

1) Visit the Overland Park Arboretum (Date Completed: 1/6/13)

2) Contest the traffic ticket we received in Lawrence, KS and win (Date attempted and sort of completed 1/7/13)

3) Take another road trip (thinking of checking out the Bridges of Madison County) (Yeah…never happened)

4) Eat at The American Restaurant (After a closer look at the menu we decided not to dine here after all)

5) Eat at Happy Gillis (Date Completed: 1/3/13)

6) Eat at Pizza Bella (Date Completed: 1/10/13)

7) Visit Hallmark (Date Completed: 1/8/13)

8) Visit the Toy and Miniature Museum (Date Completed: 12/28/12)

9) Take a Kansas City Fountains walking tour (Date Completed: 1/19/13)

10) Tour the Boulevard Brewing Company (Date Completed: 1/10/13 entry forthcoming)

11) Buy some bread at Fervre Bakery (Date completed 1/10/12 entry forthcoming)

12) Tour Weston Brewery (Date completed 1/10/13)

13) Visit Prairie Village (Date Completed 1/17/12)

14) Secure a full time job (not really specific to KC but needs to happen) (Date Completed: (1/11/13…currently I don’t have a full-time job, but I have a part-time job with the potential to go full-time which will be a great use of my skills and provide me lots of flexibility. Pretty stoked about it).

15) Eat at Extra Virgin (specifically their Duck Tongue tacos) (Date Completed: 1/5/13)

16) Explore Loose Park (Date Completed: 1/19/13)

17) Take another day trip similar to our Lawrence trip (Date Completed: 1/12/13)

18) Go to JJ’s Cool Change (Date Completed 1/2/12)

19) Take in some Kansas City Jazz (Date Completed: 1/7/13)

20) Have a drink at The Kill Devil Club (Turns out, the club has a $10 cover charge, which I was not into at all.)

Final tally: 17 out of 20 completed. Boom. Domination.

Friends, I feel pretty good about this.  In fact, I enjoyed this challenge so much that I have decided to continue this habit of making monthly resolution lists even though I am back in Chicago.  My thinking is, it will be a great way for me to get out of the house and  encourage exploration in my daily life.  It’s a new idea and I’m gonna roll with it.

Now please excuse me while I go try to thaw out.

