Tags

, , ,

Now that we are back home, and (almost) unpacked, it’s time to turn our attention to our permanent living space.

We have been in this house for over five years, but the process of making the house a home takes time. I am just not one of those people who can instantly accessorize a room with funky flea market finds. Or go antiquing.  Or pick up fresh flowers wrapped in brown paper on a weekly basis.  Now, let’s be clear, I want to be that person. I am just not…that…person.  A girl can dream.

We have agreed that we need to prioritize the public spaces over the private spaces, since these are the areas our friends and family will see.  The living room seems a sensible place to start.

rug detail 1

For some time now I have known that we needed to update our area rug, which was bequeathed to us by my mom. While it has a nice classic pattern to it, and some deep blue to tie in with our navy walls, it lacked a modern element to it which wasn’t jiving with our space.  I prefer classic design, but I also like clean contemporary lines and bold colors. Something needed to pop in the space and a rug seemed a perfect launch pad to do so.

coffee table 3

Thank goodness for Pinterest because I can across this beauty. I love the idea of Navy and Orange together.  It’s a fabulous, fun-yet-timeless color combo if you ask me.  The bold, geometric print felt wordly and classic at the same time. I couldn’t get my mind off of it.

orange rug detail 1

The rug is made by a manufacturer called Global Views.  Meaning you cannot buy directly from them unless you are a retailer or an interior designer.  Knowing I wasn’t going to find another rug which compared, I began to call various retailers (in both Chicago and Louisville) which carried Global Views products.  Much to my dismay, I discovered that this little beauty was quite pricey (in one case it was listed at a jaw-dropping $2,500 for a 5×8 rug!).  Thankfully I had the good sense to contact an interior designer who could order the rug directly from Global Views for the sweet, sweet price of $340.  Much, much better.

coffee table and orange rug

Lesson for the day: Interior Designers can get you great furniture at great prices. Find one. Befriend them. Never let them go.

It’s always a risk to order something online, for fear it will look quite different when you actually see it in person. Thankfully this piece is everything I hoped it would be. The orange hues in the rug tie in perfectly with some throw pillows I purchased last year, and the pattern gives the room the unexpected pop I was looking for.

Screen Shot 2013-01-24 at 8.02.28 PM

Now we move on to step two: Curtains.

