Tags

, , , ,

I can’t even believe an entire week has gone by. A whole week in what feels like the blink of an eye? How did that happen? Oh I know, I travelled home, ate a ton of food, became a Homeland watching recluse and started a new job (yes another new job, more on that soon).  Time flies when you have Showtime.

Now I find myself spending another weekend away from Chicago, this time in New York City.  Jürgen and I are here to celebrate our 30th birthdays (which were both last year, it’s never too late to celebrate) by going to Eleven Madison Park with his parents.  We are über excited.

Having come across a plethora of new and exciting blogs over the past week has filled me with inspiration, so I assure you I will be more dutiful about posting when I return home from my travels.

In the meantime here are some images from the past week.

My brother has a new loft in downtown Louisville, it’s still pre-construction but I managed to get some “before” shots.

photo 1

photo 2

photo 2

Lots of unique architectural details abound

Lots of unique architectural details abound

Natural light galore

Natural light galore

Lots of eating happened. My favorite being Edward Lee’s new restaurant Milkwood: a fantastically sophisticated blend of Asian flavors and down home cooking, served up in smart, with a hint-of-whimsy, platings.

photo 2

A beautifully composed dish of Frog's legs in bourbon brown butter, pickled fresno, celery and cilantro.  Great balance of flavors and textures.

A beautifully composed dish of Frog’s legs in bourbon brown butter, pickled fresno, celery and cilantro. Great balance of flavors and textures.

Cheesy cornbread with lardons.

Cheesy cornbread with lardons. Yum.

Two-day cooked Veal in a parsnip milk puree with baked duck egg, granola, thai basil and curry. Soulful and progressive all in one dish.

Two-day cooked Veal in a parsnip milk puree with baked duck egg, granola, thai basil and curry. Soulful and progressive all in one dish.

Doughnut holes with condensed milk ice cream, basil and chocolate mousse/ A delightful finish.

Doughnut holes with condensed milk ice cream, basil and chocolate mousse/ A delightful finish.

When my Uncle ended up spending an entire night in the ER, our plans to drive to Lexington to cheer on the UK Wildcats were thwarted, so we brought the game to him

Big Blue Nation

Big Blue Nation

photo 4Exploring the new walking bridge was a must

photo 4

Louisville from a bridge

Louisville from a bridge

A few obligatory kitty photos

A kitty sprawled

A kitty sprawled

A kitty curled

A kitty curled

Trying to summon spring with my choice of nail color

photo 4Finally tried my first Chicago Style Hot Dog (a full report is on its way)

photo 5Happy St. Patricks day weekend everyone! Be safe!

