Tags

OK pretty people…I need your help.

Forget the fact that it’s already the sixteenth of April and I have accomplished nothing on my resolution list. Nada. Zip. Zilch. Nothing.  Honestly I blame the weather.  Many of my items involve being outside and this April has been super lame.  Sure there have been April showers…but where are the May flowers I ask you?!?! Last night I stood waiting for the train, and I could see(!) my(!) breath(!).  I read other blogs about people just living for this amazing spring weather, and I am wont to ask “um…what amazing weather are you talking about because it has not graced the Windy City with it’s presence. No…it has not.”

However there are a few items on my list which do not have to take place outside, and there is one I need your help with, which is #6: Figure out a system to organize all of our recipes.

photo 3

So here’s the situation: An ever mounting stack of cooking magazines is growing in my living room and I don’t know how to stop it.  Last year I managed to tackle some of them.  Spending hours at the dining room table (or living room floor) going through many years worth of recipes, attempting to categorize them, to finally paste them into a colorful binder full of colorful tabs to keep everything nicely compartmentalized.  This system is fine, but it’s very time-consuming and seemingly never-ending.

The second-half of the stack

The second-half of the stack

I will admit there is a part of me that just wants to take the entire stack to the recycling bin and bid adieu to the possibility of acquiring a sideboard full of fun new recipes.  But then there is a part of me that finds that sad. Why toss out what has taken years to collect?

So my first question is: Should the cooking magazines stay or should they go? Should I keep a few and discard the rest?  So many questions…

The newest pile which hasn't even made it's way to the growing stack! It's never ending!

The newest pile which hasn’t even made it’s way to the growing stack! It’s never ending!

Then if they stay…how to organize them?  Do I invest in an accordion file folder? Do I stick with the time-consuming binder option? Is there another way I don’t know about? do they have an app for this? Can you come to my house and do it for me?!?

In general I love to organize, but this project has me stumped. So I turn to you, pretty internet friends, for guidance.  Help a gal out.

