Tags

, ,

You know when you an item on your to-do list that sticks around for way too long? Like maybe, years? Like maybe since 2007? Yeah…so that’s what the recipe organization project has been for me.  No, I haven’t written it on every to-do list (and there have been so many), but it’s been taking up valuable mental “to-do” list real estate in my mind, for far too long.  This project, or need of a project rather, was one of the main motivating factors for creating this months resolution list.

Which is why I am thrilled beyond belief that I have finally come up with a system that works for me and will be sustainable over the long-term.

Here’s what it will look like:

Desktop-001

Equals: Totally customizable recipe organization that is easy to implement and even easier to maintain. 

One of the biggest challenges I have faced with recipe organization has been categorization.  In many pre-made recipe binders/boxes/books I find the options too broad.  A “side” can be many different things. “Dinner” has too many variables too it.  For me when I am looking for a recipe it’s usually because I am starting with a specific ingredient around which I hope to build a dish. Everyone’s mind works differently, but I want to be able to easily find a central ingredient without sifting through a bunch of options.  After some brainstorming I have come up with the following categories:

-Beverages (Non-Alcoholic)
-Beverages (Alcoholic)
-Sauces/ Condiments/Oils/Rubs
-Dips/Spreads
-Breads (Muffins/Scones/Biscuits)
-Breakfast (Waffles/Pancakes/Yogurts etc)
-Eggs
-Soups/Stews/Chowders
-Sandwiches
-Salads
-Grains/Beans
-Veggies A-M
-Veggies N-Z
-Rice
-Pasta
-Potatoes
-Cheese
-Pizza/Flatbread
-Burgers
-Shellfish
-Seafood
-Chicken/Turkey (Poultry)
-Duck
-Pork
-Game (Rabbit/ Goat/ Etc)
-Lamb
-Beef/Veal
-Cookies/Bars/Brownies
-Cakies/Pies/Tarts/Cupcakes
-Desserts (Other Sweets)
Pretty specific right?  Trust me when I tell you that there is lots of room for sub-categorizing within this system,  and that has this anal-retentive food lover just boiling over with glee….but I will save that for a later post.  You heard that right…this is going to be a two-parter my friends!  I won’t be getting my pretty box and fun folders for another week or so, meaning I will report back when it’s all done.
However, work has already begun, and thankfully I am already finding this system to be much faster and time-efficient than my previous one.  I was able to go through almost twenty untouched Food and Wine magazines, along with the six-years worth of already clipped recipes over the course of one evening.  There are still untouched magazines remaining, but the groundwork has been laid for a solid recipe collecting future.
recipes
The weight from many years of recipe snipping has been lifted off my shoulders…and onto my dining room table.
Ah…what’s that I taste? Oh I know…it’s called VICTORY!
