Tags

, , ,

photo 2

Hi Friends….do you remember me? I disappeared last week, because I am a magician and can do magic tricks like make myself disappear.  Actually, I am lying to you, I am no magician…I can’t even properly shuffle cards.  Something tells me card-shuffling is a Magician 101 skill, and I can’t do it.  Along with whisteling…I can’t do that either.

I have no good excuse for my vanishing act, other than I have just not been very focused with my time and therefore blogging didn’t happen.  I hope you will forgive me.

To make up for my absence I am going to share a recipe with you, because food makes everything better. Particularly when its a combination of chocolate, bourbon and pecans.

For most people the first Saturday in May is…well…the first Saturday in May.  But if you are a Louisvillian when the sun rises on that first Saturday you jump out of bed and loudly proclaim “It’s Derby Day!” No really, everyone does that.

Aside from the fastest two minutes in sports, Derby season is two weeks full of fireworks, marathons, steamboat and balloon racing, big hats, even bigger parties and a handsome amount of eating at drinking.  Without a doubt my favorite aspect of Derby is the pie. Better known as Derby Pie, but I can’t technically call it that because Kern’s Kitchen has trademarked that name.  Still, to this Kentucky gal a pie consisting of chocolate pecans and bourbon will always be Derby Pie.

For the first time ever I made my own two-weeks ago to eat while I watched my horses lose.  So maybe I didn’t taste victory, but what I did taste was still pretty sweet.

Pie so good you will take a bite before you manage to snap a photo

Pie so good you will take a bite before you manage to snap a photo

Chocolate Chip Pecan Pie: From Sarah Fritschner’s cookbook Derby: Start to Finish

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 Cup butter
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1 Cup sugar
  • 2 TBLs. Bourbon (Note: If you are going to endeavor to make this recipe you must, I repeat you must use real Kentucky Bourbon.  None of this Tennessee whiskey or other barrel aged grain alcohol. Don’t mess with the best.)
  • 3 TBLs. Cornstarch
  • 1 Cup Finely chopped pecans
  • 1 Cup Semi-sweet chocolate morsels
  • 1  9inch Unbaked pieshell (Or you can make your own crust, just make sure it’s of the buttery and slightly flakey variety.  I wanted to go the homemade route but time constraints had me using Pillsbury)

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350˚
  • Melt butter and set aside
  • In medium bowl, beat eggs just to break them up but not get them too frothy
  •  Gradually add sugar, mixing until just blended
  • Stir in butter and bourbon
  • Blend in cornstarch
  • Stir in pecans and chocolate chips
  • Pour into pie shell
  • Bake in oven for 45 to 50 minutes
  • Cool 1 hour before serving.  (If pie cools completely, warm it for 15 minutes at 350˚)
  • Top with real unsweetened whipped cream and a mint leaf.

photo 1Serving alongside a Mint-Julep is highly recommended but not required.

 

